Employment Ontario Leadership Awards

The Employment Ontario (EO) Leadership Awards recognize Employment Ontario service providers who have demonstrated exceptional leadership in the areas of innovation, collaboration and customer service. These awards highlight the work of service providers that introduce creative approaches or partnerships to providing high- quality employment and training services to clients.



The EO Leadership Awards recognize innovation as the implementation of a new approach to an old problem. This can take the form of a new approach to delivering an existing program or service. Examples of innovation can include, but are not limited to, a creative use of technology or a significant change to how clients are able to access a service provider’s services.


The EO Leadership Awards recognize collaboration as bringing multiple stakeholders together to partner on solving problems and improving service delivery. This may involve one or more of the following working together such as: employers, non-profit organizations, and/or government agencies.

Customer Service:

The EO Leadership Awards recognize customer service as providing an exemplary level of service that takes into account the unique challenges facing clients. Recipients will demonstrate how their approaches have resulted in a meaningful impact on a client with positive and measurable outcomes. A client can include an individual, an organization such as an employer, or it can be more broadly defined such as community or client group.

Who’s Eligible?

All MTCU-funded service providers offering direct services to clients are eligible for an EO Leadership Award. The achievement must have been implemented or completed in the current fiscal year (from April 1, 2015 until March 31, 2016).

The selection committee members and the organization they represent are not eligible for nomination or for submitting letters of support this year.

How to Submit a Nomination

To nominate a service provider, please follow the nomination instructions. The ministry encourages service providers, as well as their clients, to submit nominations.


Instructions and Samples

Selection Process

Through these awards, the ministry aims to highlight, motivate and inspire innovation, collaboration and customer service throughout the EO network. The nomination submission should reflect how the achievement was outstanding and should clearly demonstrate its impact on EO clients, and their pathway to employment. The selection committee will review nominations and select winners in each category.

Presenting the Selection Committee

David Fulford (CHAIR)
Assistant Deputy Minister, Employment and Training Division (ETD)

Mary Joe Freire, Director, ETD

Sandra DiProspero, Director, ETD

Jennifer Barton, Director, ETD

Jeff Murrell, Associate Dean of Apprenticeship, Lambton College

Jennifer Fontaine, Executive Director, Ottawa Community Coalition for Literacy

Darlene Holowachuk, Senior Vice President, YMCA Greater Toronto Area

Award Ceremony

Please save Monday, May 2, 2016 for the award ceremony, where we will celebrate innovation, collaboration and customer service in the Employment Ontario network.