Literacy and Basic Skills (LBS)

Legislative Obligations

Ontario Human Rights Code

The Human Rights Code recognizes the dignity and worth of every person and provides for equal rights and opportunities without discrimination. Every person has a right to equal treatment with respect to services, goods and facilities, without discrimination because of race, ancestry, place of origin, colour, ethnic origin, citizenship, creed, sex, sexual orientation, age, marital status, family status or disability.

Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA), 1990

The purpose of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA) is to provide a right of access to information in the custody or under the control of a ministry or other government institution, subject to limited and specific exemptions. Additionally, FIPPA exists to protect personal information held by a ministry or other government institutions and provide individuals with a right to access their own personal information.

Accessibilities for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA), 2005

Through the AODA, Ontario is developing mandatory accessibility standards that will identify, remove and prevent barriers for people with disabilities in key areas of daily living. The standards are being developed to achieve real results in stages. The AODA is expected to be fully implemented by 2025. The areas addressed by the AODA standards will include: Customer Service; Employment; Information and Communication; Transportation; and The Built Environment.

French Language Service Act, 1990

The French Language Services Act (FLSA) was adopted unanimously on November 6, 1986 and came into force in November 1989. The preamble of the FLSA recognizes the contribution of the cultural heritage of the French-speaking population and wishes to preserve it for future generations.

The Francophone presence in Ontario dates back more than 350 years. Today, Ontario is home to the largest French-speaking population in Canada outside Quebec.

The Act guarantees members of the public the right to communicate with and receive services in French from all Ontario government offices located in or serving the designated areas of the province. Currently, there are 25 designated areas.

The Act applies to offices of the government, scheduled organizations, partially or fully funded designated organizations, third-party service providers contracted to deliver services on behalf of the government.

Ministries and designated organizations are responsible for planning and delivering services in French that meet the requirements of the Act and the needs of the Francophone community in areas designated under the Act. This means providing services that are equal in quality and accessibility to those offered in English to the Anglophone community. Resources must be in place to ensure that French-speaking customers have access to prompt and quality service at all times.

Insurance Act, 1990

All LBS organizations, as per terms of their agreement with MAESD, must have all the necessary and appropriate insurance, including commercial general liability insurance on an occurrence basis for third party bodily injury, personal injury and property damage, to an inclusive limit of not less than two million dollars ($2,000,000) per occurrence. The policy shall include the following:

  • the indemnified parties as additional insureds with respect to liability arising in the course of performance of the recipient’s obligations under, or otherwise in connection with, the agreement;
  • a cross-liability clause;
  • contractual liability coverage; and
  • a 30 day written notice of cancellation, termination or material change.

MAESD staff are to ensure that these legislative obligations are being adhered to by each of the LBS organizations.

These laws and legislative obligations can be found in their entirety at: http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca 

Or through:

Publications Ontario
777 Bay Street
Toronto, Ontario
Tel: 1-800-668-9938, or in Toronto at (416) 326-5300

Visual Identity

Visibility Guidelines for Organizations Contracted to Deliver Ontario Services and/or Projects (2016) are made public to all LBS organizations.

Included in the document is provincial visibility guidelines for communicating activities and products related to Employment Ontario programs, services, and projects.

The document provides visibility guidelines to LBS organizations to ensure that they are recognized as part of the Employment Ontario network. LBS organizations are not permitted to alter the Employment Ontario branding as identified in the Visibility Guidelines for Organizations Contracted to Deliver Ontario Services and/or Projects.

Alphabétisation et formation de base (AFB)

Oblications législatives

Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario

Le Code des droits de la personne reconnaît la dignité et la valeur de chaque personne et prévoit l'égalité des droits et des possibilités, sans discrimination. Chaque personne a le droit de bénéficier d'un traitement égal en ce qui concerne les services, les biens et les installations, sans discrimination fondée sur la race, l'ascendance, le lieu d'origine, la couleur, l'origine ethnique, la citoyenneté, les croyances, le sexe, l'orientation sexuelle, l'âge, l'état matrimonial, la situation familiale ou un handicap.

Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée (LAIPVP)

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée (LAIPVP) a pour but la prestation d'un droit d'accès à l'information dont un ministère ou une autre institution gouvernementale a la garde ou le contrôle, sous réserve d'exemptions limitées et spécifiques. En outre, la LAIPVP existe pour protéger les renseignements personnels détenus par un ministère ou d'autres institutions gouvernementales et pour fournir aux individus le droit d'accéder à leurs propres renseignements personnels.

Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO)

Par l'entremise de la LAPHO, l'Ontario élabore des normes obligatoires en matière d'accessibilité qui permettront de reconnaître, d'éliminer et de prévenir les obstacles auxquels font face les personnes handicapées dans des domaines clés de la vie quotidienne. Ces normes sont élaborées afin de produire des résultats réels de façon progressive. La mise en œuvre complète de la LAPHO est prévue pour 2025. Les domaines abordés par la LAPHO comprendront le service à la clientèle; l'emploi; l'information et la communication; le transport; et l'environnement bâti.

Loi de 1990 sur les services en français

La Loi sur les services en français a été adoptée à l'unanimité le 6 novembre 1986 et est entrée en vigueur en novembre 1989. Le préambule de la Loi reconnaît la contribution du patrimoine culturel de la population francophone et souhaite le préserver pour les générations futures.

La présence francophone en Ontario remonte à plus de 350 ans. Aujourd'hui, l'Ontario accueille la plus importante population francophone au Canada à l'extérieur du Québec.

La Loi garantit aux membres du public le droit de communiquer et de recevoir des services en français dans tous les bureaux du gouvernement de l'Ontario situés dans les régions désignées de la province ou servant ces régions. Il existe actuellement 25 régions désignées.

La Loi s'applique aux bureaux du gouvernement, aux organismes désignés par l'annexe, aux organismes désignés financés en totalité ou en partie, ainsi qu'aux fournisseurs de services qui fournissent des services contractuels au nom du gouvernement.

Les ministères et les organismes désignés sont chargés de la planification et de la prestation de services en français qui satisfont les exigences de la Loi et les besoins de la collectivité francophone dans les régions désignées en vertu de la Loi. Cela signifie la prestation de services dont la qualité et l'accessibilité sont égales à celles de services offerts en anglais à la collectivité anglophone. Des ressources doivent être mises en place pour s'assurer que les clients francophones ont accès en tout temps à des services de qualité rapides.

Loi de 1990 sur les assurances

Conformément aux modalités de leur entente avec le MFCU, tous les organismes de prestation des services d'AFB doivent souscrire l'assurance nécessaire et appropriée, y compris une assurance responsabilité civile générale sur la base des événements pour les blessures corporelles causées à des tiers, les blessures personnelles et les dommages matériels, jusqu'à concurrence d'une limite inclusive d'au moins deux millions de dollars (2 000 000 $) par événement. La police comprendra les éléments suivants :

  • les parties indemnisées seront inscrites comme assurés supplémentaires concernant la responsabilité survenant dans le cadre de l'exécution des obligations du destinataire en vertu de l'entente ou en relation avec celle-ci;
  • une clause de recours entre coassurés;
  • une couverture pour responsabilité contractuelle; et
  • un préavis écrit de 30 jours en cas d'annulation, de résiliation ou de changement important.

Le personnel du MFCU doit s'assurer que ces obligations législatives sont respectées par chacun des organismes de prestation de services d'AFB.

L'intégralité de ces lois et des obligations législatives est disponible à l'adresse : http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca

Ou par l'entremise de

Publications Ontario
777, rue Bay
Toronto (Ontario)
Tél. : 1 800 668-9938 ou 416 326-5300 à Toronto

Identité visuelle

Les Normes d'identité visuelles pour les organismes ayant un contrat de prestation de services et/ou de projets d'Emploi Ontario (2016) sont mises à la disposition de tous les organismes de prestation de services d'AFB.

Ce document contient des normes d'identité visuelle provinciales pour la communication d'activités et de produits liés aux programmes, aux services et aux projets d'Emploi Ontario.

Le document fournit aux organismes de prestation de services d'AFB des normes d'identité visuelle afin qu'ils soient reconnus comme faisant partie du réseau d'Emploi Ontario. Les organismes de prestation de services d'AFB ne peuvent pas modifier les marques d'Emploi Ontario identifiées dans les Normes d'identité visuelles pour les organismes ayant un contrat de prestation de services et/ou de projets d'Emploi Ontario.